About Us

Since 1750, the Recorder of Deeds has maintained a permanent public record of deeds and documents related to the development, transfer, and encumbrance of real estate in Cumberland County.

In earlier days of the office, other forms of property included cattle, horses and even slaves.  Thankfully, Deed Book 1L (1794-1796) contains several manumissions of slaves. Unscathed by the courthouse fire of 1845 and securely hidden during the Confederate invasion of 1863, the records provide a unique vista on the people who formed Cumberland County. Today, Recorder of Deeds’ documents are available electronically to the public at www.landex.com.

Until the early 1970s, non-profit corporations, churches, college fraternities, lodges, etc. received their charters from the County’s Court of Common Pleas and those charters were also recorded in this office. Prior to 1929, all records were copied by hand into canvas-bound books; upon the advent of the typewriter, all documents were then typed and placed into canvas or plastic books and stored in the office for public view.

All records are divided into three categories:

  1. Deeds
  2. Mortgages
  3. Miscellaneous
Recorder of Deeds Historic Books

Separate index books for each category were made until December 1993 when indexing became computerized. The Recorder’s Office stopped making paper books in 2001. Today, all documents are scanned, imaged and retained electronically.

In November 2017, the books were removed from the Recorder’s Office in the County Courthouse and now permanently reside at the County Archives for long-term preservation.  The searching and review of records, including all deeds back to 1750, is currently only available online at www.landex.com remotely or in the Recorder’s Office.