About Cumberland County

Named for Cumberland, England and founded on January 27, 1750, Cumberland County is located in South Central Pennsylvania. The County landscape is comprised of urban communities and rich farmland. It spans 555 square miles, with more than 250,000 residents living in its 33 municipalities. Within a two hour drive or less of Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington and within a ten hour drive of over 50% of the population of the U.S., the County is home to six colleges and universities including the US Army War College, Shippensburg University, Dickinson College, Penn State Dickinson School of Law, Central Pennsylvania College and Messiah College.

County Operations

Cumberland County is a third class county, governed by a Board of three Commissioners, each elected to a four year term. Other elected officials include: the Clerk of Courts, Controller, Coroner, District Attorney, Prothonotary, Recorder of Deeds, Register of Wills, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Additionally, six Judges of the Court of Common Pleas, including a President Judge, are elected for ten year terms. A seventh Judge is scheduled to be added in 2020. There are ten elected Magisterial District Judges who are each elected for a six year term. The Board of Commissioners appoints the Chief Clerk to oversee County operations which includes Administration, Finance, Agriculture and Planning, Emergency Services, and Human Services.