The Department of Public Safety is organized into two Operational Divisions, Public Safety Communications and Emergency Management. Each Division is under the direct supervision of a Deputy Director. These Operational Divisions are further subdivided to define the scope of operations necessary to provide an efficient delivery of service to the citizens of the county.

The Public Safety Communications Division is subdivided to include Public Safety Radio Communications Systems, 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone and Information Technology Systems with concurrent operational coordination being conducted from the Emergency Communications Center, (ECC).

The Emergency Management Operations is further subdivided into the Special Operations and Emergency Operations groups. The Special Operations group consists of specialized response capabilities usually coordinated through the use of outside agency involvement. The Emergency Operations group staffs the Emergency Operations Center (EOC).